Parliamentary Meeting on Detention Reform – 8 Nov ’10

The Detention Forum is organising a parliamentary meeting on detention reform on Monday 8th November 2010, from 4pm to 6pm.  You can download the flyer here

We are delighted that Julian Huppert MP has agreed to chair this meeting.  

The main speakers include Lord Ramsbotham, Diane Abbott MP and Lisa Nandy MP with more to be confirmed later.  Henry Smith MP (Crawley) whose constituent area includes two Immigration Removal Centres (Brook House IRC and Tinsley House IRC) will be saying a few words too. 

If you want to ask your MPs and the members of the Lords to attend the meeting, you can use a sample letter document here.  The document also contains a briefing paper on detention reform, prepared by AVID, GDWG and LDSG.  Please feel free to modify the letter. 

This meeting follows a joint-letter that was initiated by AVID, GDWG and LDSG back in June.  The meeting is supported by Barbed Wire Britain, Association of Visitors to Immigration Detainees, Gatwick Detainee Welfare Group, London Detainee Support Group, Asylum Aid, Migrants Rights Network, Churches Refugee Network, Dover Detainee Visitor Group, Coalition Against Bullingdon Immigration Removal Centre, Southampton and Winchester Visitors’ Group, Migrant & Refugee Communities Forum, Kent Refugee Help, Haslar Visitors Group, Religious Society of Friends (Quakers), Zimbabwe Association, United Reformed Church, Brighton Voices in Exile, Glasgow Campaign to Welcome Refugees, Yarl’s Wood Befrienders, African People’s Advocacy, Asylum Welcome, Cambridge Migrant Solidarity, Scottish Detainee Visitors,  Norwich Justice and Peace Group, Campaign to Close Campsfield and the Equal Rights Trust.  If your organisation wants to support the meeting, please get in touch. 

If you would like to receive more information about the meeting, please contact Eiri Ohtani at asylumrights(at)  Attendance is by invitation only, so please reserve your place in advance. 

Last updated: 20th October 2010